Brokenwood Wines unveils new cellar door

05 December, 2018 by Andy Young

Brokenwood Wines is ready to cut the ribbon on its $8m cellar door development, which has been under construction for the past year.

The development covers 1400 square meters, will be able to accommodate more than 250,000 visitors a year and replaces the original cellar door which was built in 1975. Designed by Sydney-based form Villa + Villa, the cellar door will be one of the largest in the Hunter Valley wine region and will officially be opened by co-founder of the winery, James Halliday.

Advertisement

Brokenwood’s Chief Winemaker and Managing Director, Iain Riggs AM, said: “The new offering will provide customers with a world-class experience and allow more people to taste our wines than ever before.

“This is a monumental step in our brand’s history and we are beyond excited.”

The new complex will include a large tasting room, an expansive outdoor terrace, two private tasting rooms, two private dining rooms, a wine museum and a lounge area. The two dining venues led by Andrew and Janet Wright, will include casual eatery, Cru Bar + Pantry and modern dining room, The Wood Restaurant.

The museum will overlook the working barrel hall and KB’s Lookout, a unique space above the tasting room named in honour of the late Keith Barry (KB) who was the winery’s Vineyard Manager for 23 years.  The museum will be devoted to Brokenwood’s history, with collectable items gathered over its 40-year history as well as iconic and aged wines.